Founded in 1848, The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest federation of scientific and engineering societies, with nearly 300 affiliates. In addition, AAAS counts nearly 140,000 scientists, engineers, science educators, policymakers, and interested citizens among its individual members, making it the largest general scientific organization in the world.

The continuing objectives of AAAS are to:

  • Further the work of scientists:

  • Facilitate cooperation among them

  • Foster scientific freedom and responsibility

  • Improve the effectiveness of science in the promotion of human welfare:

  • Advance education in science: and

  • Increase the public understanding and appreciation of the methods of science in human progress.

Attainment of these objectives involves both national and international activities.

The Caribbean Division was founded in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico in 1985 and our first president was Dr. Juan Bonnet.